Connect with us

Latest News

Young scientists honoured in India

Niji Narayan



Photo Source:
Reading Time: 2 minutes


The vice president of India, M. Venkaiah Naidu, has distributed the 12th NASI-Scopus Young Scientist Awards to young scientists in a glittering ceremony in New Delhi. The award was jointly instituted by the leading academic publisher Elsevier and National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI). The award is part of Elsevier’s global initiative to support young researchers to enable them expand the frontiers of science in their chosen areas of study leading to excellence in their respective disciplines.

Venkaiah Naidu said: “At a time when the world has become a global village and boundaries of different disciplines are blurring, the role of science and technology becomes far more important than ever before. I compliment the National Academy of Sciences, India and Elsevier for instituting these Awards to promote scientific excellence among the youngsters.

“For the last ten years, we have seen the increase in human development indicators, such as life expectancy, maternal mortality rate, infant mortality rate, and the Indian scientific fraternity has played a huge role in improving the social indicators, as well as advancing India’s scientific progress,” Mr. Naidu concluded.

“India has a rich and strong foundation in scientific research, and we’ve seen some outstanding submissions from India’s best and brightest scientists this year,” said Gino Ussi, Executive Vice President, Elsevier. “Elsevier has a critical role to play in contributing to the continuity of India’s scientific endeavours and raising the visibility of young scientists and their contribution. We commend all the winners for their extraordinary work.”

The following are the award winners in various categories:

  • Agriculture, Plant Sciences and Rural Development
    Dr. Jitender Giri, National Institute of Plant Genome Research, New Delhi• Biomedical Research and Healthcare
    Dr. Maddika Subba Reddy, Group Leader and Staff Scientist- V, CDFD, Hyderabad• Environmentally Sound Sustainable Development
    Dr. Vimal Chandra Srivastava, Indian Institute of Technology-Roorkee, Roorkee

    • Innovation in Engineering and Physical Sciences
    Dr. Ajay S. Karakoti, Associate Professor, Ahmedabad University, Ahmedabad

    • Women in Science
    Dr. Zhumur Ghosh, Bose Institute, Kolkata

    The Award winners receive a citation and a plaque and a cash prize of INR 75,000.

The award acts as a welcome boost to young scientists from all over India.

Hi there,

Thank you for visiting PICANTE News and thank you reading my articles!

I have been writing articles and explaining reports in several industries for well over a decade or so. This is why I pride myself as one of the few survivors left in the world who have actually mastered the impossible art of copy editing. During my education phase I've graduated in Physics and obtained my Master’s degree in Communication and Journalism.

Although I usually focus on social and political news, I have some favorite topics that always make me happier. These topics include writing about sports events and travel writing.

During my career I've have written for numerous websites and my in-depth analytical articles have been highlighted in top sports magazines like Cricket Today and Sports Today. I report several social, education and wordwide community releated headlines from all around the globe.

You can find my articles and editorials in the following categories:


You can get in touch to discuss interviews or possible article submissions by contacting us.

Let's also connect via social media! You can find me on LinkedIn, Facebook and Twitter.

Font Resizer


Subscribe to PICANTE via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to PICANTE and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow us on Facebook

Follow our Tweets


Please turn AdBlock off